When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a problem"

Post Reply
freeseek
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2014 01:40

When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a problem"

Post by freeseek » 15 Sep 2014 01:43

I have installed the 64 bit version of openLCA on a 64bit Windows 7 machine. Whenever I open the program I am greeted by the following message:
'Open editor' has encountered a problem.
An internal error has occurred.
<< Details
An internal error has occurred.
java.lang.StackOverflowError

A window opens but in the "Welcome" tab nothing appears.

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by aciroth » 15 Sep 2014 14:49

Hm, "greeted"... possible reasons could be not enough memory for the application (the 64bit version takes 3GB RAM by default, according to the ini file that is contained in the install pack). Can you maybe post or send more details, e.g. the log file?
Thanks,
Andreas

- windows installation are really not complicated any more, if you for whatever reason cannot solve it you can also simply uninstall openLCA and then use the zip archive that we also provide, extract it, and start openlca.exe. Your databases folder will be preserved. Make sure to have sufficient memory though or reduce it if needed in the openlca.ini file

freeseek
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2014 01:40

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by freeseek » 15 Sep 2014 15:45

The machine has 8GB of memory, so I doubt that is the issue. Also, the problem appears also with the 32bit version of openLCA 1.4, but not with openLCA 1.3.4. Where do I find a log file to post? Also, I noticed that both 32bit and 64bit versions of openLCA install in the C:\Program Files (x86)\openLCA directory (which seems unorthodox for the 64bit version) and if I try to install one version after the other, the second installation actually fails. I first need to uninstall the previous version of openLCA and manually remove the directory, as the uninstall program seems to fail as well.

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by aciroth » 15 Sep 2014 17:57

Ah I see, is it possible that you do not have full access rights to the program folder? By default, openLCA is installed in the user directory, in Windows, where a user has access rights. Can you login as admin and uninstall, and then install again into your user directory. Or, as mentioned in my previous post, use the zip archive for openLCA.
Hth,
Andreas

- the log file is in the database folder
2014-09-15 18_00_34-openLCA-data-1.4.png
2014-09-15 18_00_34-openLCA-data-1.4.png (23.13 KiB) Viewed 8073 times
Attachments
2014-09-15 17_54_36-openLCA.png
openLCA installation in user directory
2014-09-15 17_54_36-openLCA.png (25.15 KiB) Viewed 8075 times
2014-09-15 17_55_55-Download page - openLCA.org.png
openLCA zip archive for direct installation
2014-09-15 17_55_55-Download page - openLCA.org.png (9.31 KiB) Viewed 8075 times

freeseek
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2014 01:40

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by freeseek » 15 Sep 2014 18:11

I definitely don't have user access to the directory. By default the directory is installed as "Read-only". I could not even modify the .ini file with notepad. However, I have now downloaded and unpacked the openLCA 1.4 zip version in a directory on the Desktop and removed the Read-only flag on the directory in C:\Program Files (x86)\openLCA but the same problem persists.

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by aciroth » 15 Sep 2014 18:32

I definitely don't have user access to the directory
- so that is then the issue.
I have now downloaded and unpacked the openLCA 1.4 zip version in a directory on the Desktop
: and? On your desktop, this problem should not exist.

freeseek
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2014 01:40

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by freeseek » 16 Sep 2014 01:19

This problem still exists (even when running the program as Administrator), and it has nothing to do with file permissions. How do I get the log file? How do I debug this? My bet is that there is something the program relies on that is usually installed on Windows 7 64bit but not on my installation of Windows 7 64bit.

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by aciroth » 16 Sep 2014 12:06

please see above:
the log file is in the database folder

freeseek
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2014 01:40

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by freeseek » 16 Sep 2014 16:39

There was only a 1410824789743.log file in the "C:\Users\%%USER%%\openLCA-data-1.4\" directory (see attached). I am not sure if this relates to the issue though.
Attachments
1410824789743.log
(12.08 KiB) Downloaded 363 times

msrocka
Posts: 18
Joined: 29 Jan 2013 10:07

Re: When opening openLCA "Open editor has encountered a prob

Post by msrocka » 24 Sep 2014 18:20

It seems that this problem is solved in the current beta version which is available at https://sourceforge.net/projects/openlc ... 4.1_beta4/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest