ProBas-Database CO2

Post Reply
atjack
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Jan 2015 15:39
Location: Berlin

ProBas-Database CO2

Post by atjack » 30 Jan 2015 21:26

Hello,

I have the following problem:
I used the ProBas-Database from Nexus to calculate the Environmental Performance of a T-Shirt. When I calculate this, for example with CML2001, I get as a result something like 3.2 kg CO2 eq, but when according into ProBas web database and the Process in Openlca I should get something like 12 kg CO2 eq. So after a long searching for an answer I found the explanation. In CO2-flow in the Probas-Prozesses has the name "CO2", but this flow is not include in one of the impact methods available in this database. CO2 is always include with names "Carbon dioxide". So why is that so?

I hope the problem is understandable, feel free to ask questions.

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: ProBas-Database CO2

Post by aciroth » 02 Feb 2015 14:18

You are right, this is an error - we will correct the LCIA method pack that is part of the ProBas database - the database contains a seperate method pack due to the German elementary flow names.
Thank you for your comment!
Andreas

atjack
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Jan 2015 15:39
Location: Berlin

Re: ProBas-Database CO2

Post by atjack » 02 Feb 2015 15:52

Thanks for the replay

When will the new LCIA method pack be available?

Maybe this is a help:
I added to the CML 2001 (Baseline) Method:
Climate Change:
- CO2
photochemical oxidation
- CO
Eutrophication – generic
- P
- N

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: ProBas-Database CO2

Post by aciroth » 03 Feb 2015 21:15

We think this new version will be available Friday. Sorry for the inconvenience. It is not the flows as such but the flows in compartments. We will then also update the ProBas-specific methods to our most recent method pack.

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: ProBas-Database CO2

Post by aciroth » 11 Feb 2015 14:37

An update: The ProBas database, a separat LCIA method pack for ProBas, and also a documentation is now available in Nexus.
2015-02-11 13_36_20-openLCA Nexus_ The source for LCA data sets.png
2015-02-11 13_36_20-openLCA Nexus_ The source for LCA data sets.png (22.59 KiB) Viewed 2982 times
2015-02-11 13_36_32-openLCA Nexus_ The source for LCA data sets.png
2015-02-11 13_36_32-openLCA Nexus_ The source for LCA data sets.png (6.38 KiB) Viewed 2982 times

atjack
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Jan 2015 15:39
Location: Berlin

Re: ProBas-Database CO2

Post by atjack » 12 Feb 2015 16:00

Hello,

thanks for the update.

Just a small question, does the new database include the new process which where included, with the relaunch of the probas database, today?

Greetings

aciroth
Posts: 750
Joined: 09 May 2010 23:28

Re: ProBas-Database CO2

Post by aciroth » 12 Feb 2015 22:21

So, you are asking whether the fix that we uploaded today contains the database that was today released by UBA? Thank you.
No, not yet, we are working on it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest